Home > shiren 4 > shiren 4 08/11/2012

shiren 4 08/11/2012

yeah so after finishing (graphically and what I thought was textually, – er table wise… meh), the mte of shiren 4’s font, I found myself looking at garbled letters and an unmistakable failure.  one problem which was an easy fix was correcting the in game width of the letter pairs.  Which was actually real easy to do as there is a width check in the file.

No, now the other main problem was that I had changed the table file to be able to read the letter pairs.  Th sh ea and so on.  so I figured the smallest and easiest to edit file signboard.bin would be my best bet for testing.  All you have to do is walk around town and go up to a place that has a name.  so “Bar ” should have shown up correctly.  What I got was the default nul character (square block).   My way around this was to just leave the original table file in place and use the old japanese letter equivalents.  something i had done for my now discontinued 7th dragon project.  which is where the width check made itself apparent.

So… sigh.

I mentioned before that this edit would mean that the entire game would have to be translated.  As there would be no point as now most of the former untranslated stuff is pure garbage.

Now aside from this there is the additional block of having to stay within the same size of the sir0 headered files as there is a memory position/pointer for the beginning of every one of these files.  well except for the messarc.bin sir0 pack file.  Since there isn’t that much text in those packed files this is not a problem.

Where does this leave me re working that table file to see if I can in fact edit anything other than the width in.  As I severely hope that is isn’t my out of numerical order mte’d font table that is causing the error.

uh otherwise, I am only posting this as I have been sick the last 2 days and pretty much unable to do anything.  (yes that includes working on my hacks/translation crap).   I thought an update was in order.

still wondering if this direction is the best fit for me (not the hacking stuff).

Categories: shiren 4
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

